First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore (Pat) Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Mandy Powers Norrell
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee Meeting Tuesday, May 7, 2019, at 9:00 am Blatt Building Room 410

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. Chair Jay West calls the Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee to order on Tuesday, May 7, 2019, in Room 410 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Subcommittee are present for all or a portion of the meeting.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Wooten moves to approve the meeting minutes from the April 23, 2019, meeting. The motion passes.

Representative Wooten's				Not
motion to approve the	Yea	Nay	Not Voting	Voting
meeting minutes from the	1 Ca	INay	(Absent)	(Present)
April 23, 2019, meeting.				
Rep. Robert Ridgeway	✓			
Rep. Bill Taylor	✓			
Rep. Chris Wooten	✓			
Rep. Jay West	✓			

Meeting

- I. Chair West explains that this is the Subcommittee's seventh meeting with the Department of Mental Health, and that the purpose is to continue to learn about community mental health services.
- II. Chair West explains that all testimony given to this subcommittee, which is an investigating committee, must be under oath. He reminds those sworn in during prior meetings that they remain under oath.
- III. Interim Director Binkley and Deputy Director Calcote provide testimony about mental health professionals and deferred facility maintenance.
- IV. Subcommittee members ask, and agency staff respond to questions about the following subjects:
 - a. Deferred maintenance;
 - b. Mental Health Professionals job descriptions;
 - c. Employee feedback and morale;
 - d. Salaries; and
 - e. Employee retention and recruiting.
- V. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.